top of page

The YONKERS RAILSPLITTERS win the 2019 A Championship!!!

This series kept the fans on their toes. Each game seemed to be going in a certain direction and then suddenly changed course. It was close!!!

GM 1: Railsplitters 5 Patriots 2 GM 2: Railsplitters 7 Patriots 10 GM 3: Railsplitters 2 Patriots 1 __________________________ Total: Railsplitters 14 Patriots 13

Game 3 took two dates to complete as it was halted by mother nature. Elizabeth Benn and Jose Dejesus pitched a stalemate through 5 innings in a 1-1 game.

Fast forward to the continuation:

Mike Boothby comes in with a 1-2-3 6th followed by a leadoff walk (C. Colon), steal of 2nd, advance to 3B (WP) and RBI single (F. Martinez). That would be it as Boothby shuts it down to close out the 2-1 victory with 4 innings of scoreless ball.

Tension mounted in the Top of the 8th bases loaded, 2 outs and a full count to the Patriots lead-off hitter (H. Sanchez). Sanchez strokes a line drive up the middle only to be robed by the SS for the 6-3 putout.

While Mike Boothby secured the two wins there are three other standouts worthy of championship acknowledgement: Elizabeth Benn, Christen Colon, and Felipe Martinez.

Elizabeth Benn picked up the save in the semi-final round to send the Railsplitters to the championship, and she also pitched 5-innings of 1-run ball in the decisive 3rd game of the championship.

The engine that paced the offense throughout the playoffs was the duo of Lead-off hitter Chris Colon, and Clean-up hitter Felipe Martinez. Neither would've had an impact without the other. Colon set the table while Martinez cleared it. It was a great display of doing your job and trusting the next guy up to do theirs.

Martinez: .375 avg (9) RBI (3) 2B (2) BB (3) k (3) runs

Colon .313 avg (12) BB (2) K (7) runs (5) SB (4) RBI

Congratulations to the BACK 2 BACK CHAMPIONS and the Patriots for a highly competitive and entertaining championship series.

#BacktoBack #Yonkers #ElizabethBenn #Railsplitters #NYCMBL #singlea #Championship

bottom of page